Thursday, June, 13,2024

Latest News

Chittorgarh: A historic saga of Cong-BJP rivalry unfolds

Jaipur: The Chittorgarh Lok Sabha constituency in Rajasthan has been witnessing a fierce political battle between the Congress and the BJP since independence. Notably, this constituency has been represented by prominent figures such as former Union Minister Dr. Girija Vyas and Maharana Mahendra Singh of Udaipur’s royal family.

The electoral history of this constituency dates back to its inaugural elections, where the Bharatiya Jan Sangh made its mark with Umashankar Trivedi emerging victorious. However, the subsequent elections in 1957 and 1962 saw the seat swinging in favour of the Congress, with Manikyalal Varma elected as the MP. The Congress continued its streak in 1967 with another victory.

In 1971, the Bharatiya Jan Sangh’s Vishwanath Jhunjhunwala clinched the seat, followed by the Janata Party’s Shyam Sundar Somani in 1977. The seat reverted to Congress in 1980 and 1984, with Nirmala Kumari Shaktawat serving as the MP. The BJP entered the fray in 1989, and Mahendra Singh Mehta won the elections, retaining the seat in 1991 and 1996.

Chittorgarh has also been associated with Jaswant Singh, who served as MP in 1991 and 1996, carving a niche for himself in the political landscape. Before Singh’s tenure, the Congress had secured victories in three out of six Lok Sabha elections. However, the BJP’s Sri Chand Kriplani won in 1999 and 2004.

In 2009, Congress’s Girija Vyas reclaimed the seat, only to see the BJP regain control from 2014 onwards. Currently, CP Joshi leads the constituency under the BJP banner.

The Chittorgarh constituency remains significant for its historical and political significance, with each election witnessing intense competition between the Congress and the BJP. As the electoral battle heats up once again, the voters await the outcome, which will shape the political landscape of the region for years to come.

  Share on

Related News