Saturday, April, 20,2024

Latest News

Four BJP rebels among the 9 independents victorious

Jaipur: Eight candidates who did not get tickets and had turned rebels have reached the Assembly by winning the elections as independent candidates. All of them are rebels of BJP. Among them, Ganeshraj Bansal from Hanumangarh, Ritu Banawat from Bayan, Yunus Khan from Didwana, Ravindra Bhati from Shiv, Priyanka Chaudhary from Barmer, Jeevaram Chaudhary from Sanchore, Chandrabhan Singh Akya from Chittorgarh and Ashok Kumar Kothari from Bhilwara won the elections. In the last assembly elections, 13 independent MLAs had won.

Over the years, the number of independent MLAs has fluctuated in Rajasthan’s elections. Starting with 39 independents in 1952, the count decreased over time but saw a resurgence in 1980 and 1985. Despite increased security deposits, candidates persist. The trend suggests continued significance for independent MLAs in Rajasthan’s political landscape.

  Share on

Related News