Sunday, July, 21,2024

Latest News

BJP wins 23 seats in Arunachal, leads on 23; SKM wins 11 in Sikkim

New Delhi: Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu on Sunday extended wishes to BJP leaders as the party registered its victory in 23 seats in the state and is leading in 23 seats taking the tally to 46, per the report by Election Commission.
The BJP has already won 10 seats unopposed in Arunachal. Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein have already won their respective seats.
The majority mark in the Arunachal Assembly is 31.
National People's Party (NPEP) has won one seat and is leading on four seats. The People's Party of Arunachal (PPA) is leading on two seats, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) on three seats.
Independent candidate Wanglam Sawin has won the Khonsa seat.
People were seen celebrating outside the BJP office in Itanagar after it looked to retain power in the state.
In a post on X, CM Khandu said, "Extending heartiest congratulations to Tesam Pongte on winning from 53 Changlang North seat. Your victory is a testament to your hard work and commitment to serve the people."
In another post, he said, "Congratulations to Wanglin Lowangdong Ji on winning from 57 Borduria-Bogapani constituency. Keep working for the betterment of people."
Arunachal CM also extended wishes to Hamjong Tangha on winning from 52 Changlang South constituency.
In the 2019 Assembly elections, the BJP won 41 seats in Arunachal Pradesh. The Janata Dal (United) bagged seven, the National People's Party (NPP) five, Congress four, and the Peoples Party of Arunachal (PPA) one. Two independents also won in the Assembly polls. All except one Congress MLA, former Chief Minister Nabam Tuki, joined the BJP.
In Sikkim, ruling Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) has won 11 seats and is leading on 20, taking the total to 31.
Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) is leading on one seat.
In the 2019 Assembly elections, the SKM won 17 seats, while the SDF secured 15 seats. The exit polls predict that the SKM will come back to power in the state.

  Share on

Related News