Sunday, April, 14,2024

Latest News

Congress to declare pending candidates in Chhattisgarh soon: Dy CM TS Singh Deo

New Delhi: Hours after the second list of Congress for Chhattisgarh Assembly elections was declared, Deputy Chief Minister of the poll-bound state, TS Singh Deo on Wednesday said that the remaining 7 candidates will be finalised soon.

He said that whatever is pending will be cleared by the Congress president and that it will be released soon
"...Whatever is pending will be cleared by the Congress President. They are discussing it still...It (the list of remaining candidates) will be released soon.

The Congress has so far announced 83 candidates for the 90-member Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly, with the second list of 53 candidates released earlier today.

While, the ruling party has decided to again field Arun Vora, son of former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister and senior Congress leader Motilal Vora, from Durg City, Chhaya Verma, a former member of the Rajya Sabha has been given a ticket from Dharsiwa constituency.
Moreover, the party has fielded Mahant Ram Sundar Das from Raipur South City Assembly seat against BJP stalwart Brijmohan Agrawal.
The elections for the 90-member Assembly of Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases.

The first phase of polling for 20 seats will be held on November 7, and the remaining 70 seats will go to polls on November 17.
Meanwhile, among the 53 candidates list, announced today, Congress has pitted Gulab Singh Kamro from Bharatpur-Sonhat - ST constituency, Ramesh Singh from Manendragarh, and Purshottam Kanwar has been fielded from Katghora.
Earlier on Sunday, the party released the first list of 30 candidates, fielding Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel from Patan and Deputy Chief Minister TS Singh Deo from Ambikapur.

The counting of votes will take place on December 3 in all the states.
Of the five states, polling in Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases. The Model Code of Conduct has come into force with the announcement of poll dates.
Earlier after the 2018 assembly polls, the Congress witnessed a landslide victory winning 68 seats out of 90 of those against the then ruling-BJP, which acquired 15 seats.

  Share on

Related News