Wednesday, July, 24,2024

Latest News

IPL 2023: New Season, New Rulebook

The 2023 IPL season will begin on March 31. Defending champions Gujarat Titans will face Chennai Super Kings in the opener at the Narendra Modi Stadium. A total of 70 league matches will be played over 52 days. The IPL 2023 final is scheduled on May 28, 2023.

IPL 2023 will have a new format and some Changed Rules. Due to the tournament’s home-and-away format, the Indian Premier League 2023 will restore happiness at home. 

This year, the BCCI decided to change several of the league's rules, including: 

  1. The captains are allowed to list four substitute players, from whom one might be called upon later, when submitting the team sheets. From the moment he steps onto the field, the ‘Impact Player’ is capable of performing all three roles: batting, bowling, and fielding. The Impact Player can only be an Indian player unless the franchise has fewer than four foreign players in the Playing XI".
    As per the BCCI, " an overseas player who is part of 4 substitutes named in the team sheet can be used as an Impact Player. If a team introduces an overseas player as an Impact Player in a match, in no circumstance can a 5th overseas player take the field."
    The Impact Player can enter the game before the start of an inning or after an over is finished, it should be mentioned.
    On the batting side, Impact Player can be introduced when a wicket is lost or whenever a batter decides to leave the game during an over.
    The Impact Player, however, cannot be used as the captain of the team.
  2. If an undue movement of a fielder or wicketkeeper occurred, there will be a penalty of 5 runs assessed to the fielding side, and the delivery on which it occurred will be ruled dead by the on-field umpire.
  3. Only four fielders will be allowed outside the 30 yards area if the team failed to bowl overs in allocated time.
  4. Players can now challenge the wide and no-ball decisions of the umpires using the Decision Review System (DRS). The Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023 became the first tournament to introduce the rule, and now IPL will also see it being implemented in their 16th edition.
  Share on

Related News