Wednesday, September, 22,2021

Cheer for Team India at the Tokyo Olympics; know your champions, a detailed review {Part-2}


Women’s Fly, RO-32:  Mary Kom

Mary Kom

  • 2012 Olympics bronze medalist 
  • 2018 Commonwealth Games Gold Medalist 
  • 2 times Asian Games medalists


Women’s Middle, RO-32: – Pooja Rani

Pooja Rani

  • She is an Indian middleweight boxer and has won bronze medal at the 2014 Asian Games in the 75 kg category.
  • She is also 4 times Asian Championship medalist and recently clinched gold medal at the 31st Asian Amateur Boxing Championships, 2021 which was held in Dubai.


Men’s Light, RO-32: Manish Kaushik

Manish Kaushik

  • He is an Indian boxer who hails from Haryana. He competes in the lightweight division and is a Commonwealth silver medalist.
  • He has also won gold medal in BOXAM International Boxing Tournament 2021


Artistic Gymnastics

Women’s qualification – Pranati Nayak

Women’s qualification – Pranati Nayak

  • The second Indian to make it to the Olympics in gymnastics hails from West Bengal. She is Asian Championship Bronze Medalist and has participated in several elite events, including the Commonwealth Games and Asian Games.
  • She earned a continental quota spot to the Tokyo Olympics after the cancellation of the 2021 Asian Championships. She is the sole gymnastics representative for the Indian delegation.



Women’s Laser Radial (race 1, 2): Nethra Kumanan

  • A 23-year-old professional sailor hails from the city of Chennai and is the first-ever Indian woman sailor to represent India at Olympics.
  • Nethra is the first woman from India to win a medal in the Sailing World Cup, 2020, where she clinched bronze.
  • She trains at the Canary Islands in Spain and has also represented the country in the 2014 and the 2018 Asian Games that was held in Jakarta.



Women’s 10m Air Pistol Qualification and Final  – Manu Bhaker, Yashaswini Deswal

Women’s 10m Air Pistol Qualification and Final  – Manu Bhaker, Yashaswini Deswal

Men’s 10m Air Rifle Qualification and Final – Deepak Kumar, Divyansh Singh Panwar


Women’s 100m backstroke heats– Maana Patel

Women’s 100m backstroke heats– Maana Patel

  • She is an Indian backstroke swimmer from Ahmedabad, Gujarat and started swimming when she was seven.
  • Maana has won gold medals in 50 m and 200 m backstroke at the National Games.
  • She has also secured several medals in South Asian Games.


Men’s 100m backstroke heats – Srihari Nataraj

  • He is a 20-year-old Indian swimmer who aims to emulate Michael Phelps’s physical and mental capabilities 
  • He has competed in the 2018 Commonwealth Games, 2018 Asian Games and 2019 World Aquatic meet.




  • Olympic
  • Olympic 2020
  • tokyo olympic
  • tokyo olympics
  • Japan
  • Japan National Stadium
  • Opening Ceremony
  Share on

Related News