Thursday, November, 30,2023

Latest News

Asian Games: India secures 5th shooting medal, Anish-Vijayveer-Adarsh bag bronze in 25 m rapid fire pistol event

Hangzhou: The Indian rapid-fire pistol shooting trio of Anish, Vijayveer Sidhu and Adarsh Singh secured a bronze medal in the 25m rapid-fire pistol team men's event at the ongoing Asian Games in Hangzhou on Monday. 
With a score of 1718, the Indian trio managed to get its hands on a bronze medal. The gold medal was bagged by China (1765 points) and South Korea took home the silver with 1734 points. 
This is India's fifth medal at shooting. 
Earlier, shooter Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar secured a bronze medal in the men's 10 m air rifle individual final at the ongoing Asian Games in Hangzhou on Monday. 
He ended in third position with a total of 228.8 points. The gold medal went to Lihao Sheng of China (253.3 points) while the silver medal was secured by South Korea's Hajun Park (251.3 points). 
Interestingly, Aishwary beat his compatriot Rudrranksh Patil in the shoot-off for bronze. The latter finished with 208.7 points at the fourth spot. 
This was India's fourth medal in shooting at Hangzhou. 
Also today, Team India's shooting trio, Divyansh Panwar, Rudrankksh Patil and Aishwary Tomar, clinched gold in the Men's 10 m air rifle team shooting event. 
Their impressive score of 1893.7 not only secured the top spot but also shattered China's world record of 1893.3 points set in August 2023. 
The silver medal was bagged by South Korea, with a total of 1890.1 points. 
China fell way behind to secure the bronze with 1888.2 points. 
This was India's first gold in the Asian Games Hangzhou. 
India so far has won ten medals at the ongoing Asian Games, consisting of one gold, three silver, and six bronze.
The shooting events at the Asian Games Hangzhou will be conducted from September 24 to October 1. A total of 33 medal events will be taking place across rifle, pistol and shotgun categories at the Fuyang Yinhu Sports Centre.
Olympian Manu Bhaker and former world champion Rudrankksh are some of the stars of the 33-member Indian contingent. 
*Asian Games 2023: Indian Shooting Squad
10m air rifle: Rudrankksh Patil, Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar, Divyansh Singh Panwar
50m rifle 3 positions: Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar, Swapnil Kusale, Akhil Sheoran
10m air pistol: Arjun Singh Cheema, Shiva Narwal, Sarabjot Singh
25m rapid fire pistol: Anish, Vijayveer Sidhu, Adarsh Singh
Skeet: Anantjeet Singh Naruka, Gurjoat Singh Khangura, Angad Vir Singh Bajwa
Trap: Kynan Chenai, Prithviraj Toindaman, Zoravar Singh Sandhu
10m air rifle: Ashi Chouksey, Mehuli Ghosh, Ramita
50m rifle 3 positions: Sift Kaur Samra, Manini Kaushik, Ashi Chouksey
10m air pistol: Divya TS, Palak, Esha Singh
25m sports pistol: Manu Bhaker, Rhythm Sangwan, Esha Singh
Skeet: Parinaaz Dhaliwal, Ganemat Sekhon, Darshna Rathore, Women’s trap: Rajeshwari Kumari, Manisha Keer, Preeti Rajak
-Mixed team
Air rifle: Divyansh Singh Panwar, Ramita, Mehuli Ghosh, Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar
Air pistol: Sarabjot Singh, Divya TS, Esha Singh, Shiva Narwal
Skeet: Anantjeet Singh Naruka, Parinaaz Dhaliwal, Ganemat Sekhon, Gurjoat Singh Khangura.

  Share on

Related News