Monday, July, 22,2024

Latest News

Meena-Pilot combination eyes Jaunapuria’s Gurjar vote bank to stop his hat-trick

Tonk: At present, there is a direct contest between Congress and BJP on the Tonk-Sawai Madhopur Lok Sabha seat, which is dominated by Meena, Gurjar, and minority voters of the state. Expressing confidence in Sukhbir Singh Jaunapuria for the third consecutive time, the BJP has made him its candidate from this seat, while Congress has chosen Harish Chandra Meena, the sitting MLA of Deoli-Uniara Assembly, as its candidate. No presence of the Third Front is visible from this seat.

Amidst the electoral battle, both candidates have entered the field and showcased their full strength. Both are touring extensively, from urban areas to rural areas. Jaunapuria has reached Parliament after winning the elections from the Tonk-Sawai Madhopur Lok Sabha seat twice in a row and is again in the fray for the third time to score a hat-trick. Jaunapuria is included in the list of famous industrialists in the country and also led the agitation during the Gurjar reservation movement in the state, after which he became a well-known name in the Gurjar community. To woo the Gurjar voters of the state, Jaunapuria was also made the BJP state vice president. Jaunapuria, who has been MP from this seat for ten consecutive years, is considered to have a stronghold in the area. Prime Minister Narendra Modi himself has praised his free kitchen on social media.

Congress candidate Harish Chandra Meena, who has been the DGP of Rajasthan for a long time, has previously been the Dausa MP on the Bharatiya Janata Party ticket. After this, Meena left the BJP and joined the Congress. Meena has been MLA from the Deoli-Uniara Assembly seat for two consecutive terms and is a native of Bamanwas village in Sawai Madhopur district. There are a large number of Meena voters in this seat, on whom Harish Chandra Meena’s hold is considered strong.

Earlier, there were speculations that Sachin Pilot would contest this seat, but Pilot recommended Meena’s name. In such a situation, the credibility of Sachin Pilot is also at stake in this Lok Sabha seat. It is believed that Sachin Pilot will also do his best to ensure the victory of the Congress candidate in this seat by making a dent in the Gurjar votes. Out of a total of 8 Assembly seats in this Lok Sabha constituency, Congress and BJP currently hold 4 seats each.

  Share on

Related News