Tuesday, July, 23,2024

Latest News

Lok Sabha 2024 elections: Om Birla exudes confidence in BJP's victory, asserts, "will win all 25 seats in Rajasthan"

Kota: Dismissing the opposition's rallying call to "Save the Constitution," Lok Sabha Speaker and BJP candidate from Kota in Rajasthan, Om Birla, on Friday asserted that the Constitution is in good hands.
Birla, along with his wife Amita Birla cast his vote at a polling booth in Kota today to cast his vote.
Birla is contesting Prahlad Gunjal, who quit the BJP to join hands with the Congress ahead of this Lok Sabha elections.
While speaking to ANI, Birla said, "This is not a fight to save the constitution, the constitution is in good hands. They (opposition) are just spreading lies. Social structure and social reservation will remain intact".
On former BJP MLA Gunjal joining Congress ahead of elections, Birla said, "He keeps on defecting here and there. Earlier too he had defected to some other party to contest elections".
Addressing concerns over infrastructure development, particularly the long-awaited construction of a greenfield airport in Kota, Birla assured that progress is imminent.
"The airport will definitely be constructed. The state government had not paid dues for nine months, but as soon as Bhajanlal Sharma became the CM, the Rajasthan government deposited the money within 20 days. Airport construction will begin after a DPR is formed," he said.
Eyeing a third consecutive term in Kota, Birla exuded confidence in the BJP's electoral prospects, expressing certainty in the party's ability to retain all 25 Lok Sabha seats in Rajasthan once again. He said that the BJP will win all 25 seats "one hundred per cent".
In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Om Birla defeated Congress candidate Ramnarain Meena by a significant margin of 279,677 votes. Birla got 59.1 per cent of the vote share.
In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Birla defeated Congress' Ijyaraj Singh with a margin of 2,00,782 votes. Later, Ijyaraj Singh joined the BJP.
Polling for Phase 2 of the Lok Sabha polls for the remaining 13 of the 25 seats began today in Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Ajmer, Pali, Jodhpur, Barmer, Jalore, Udaipur, Banswara, Chittorgarh, Rajsamand, Bhilwara, Kota, and Jhalawar-Baran constituencies of Rajasthan.
On April 19, the first phase of the general electionhad seen 12 constituencies going in to vote. Counting of votes will be conducted on June 4.
The BJP won all 25 parliamentary seats in Rajasthan in the 2014 Lok Sabha election. However, in 2019, the BJP bagged 24 seats while the Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) managed to secure the other remaining seat.

  Share on

Related News