In Rajasthan's Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Congress' Harish Chandra Meena up against two-time BJP MP Sukhbir Singh Jaunapuria

Rajasthan: Tonk-Sawai Madhopur in Rajasthan will go to the polls in the second phase on April 26. This time Harish Chandra Meena from Congress will be battling with BJP's Sukhbir Singh Jaunapuria for Tonk Sawai Madhopur Lok Sabha seat in Tonk district.
Tonk-Sawai Madhopur is a general seat and can be considered a strong household for the BJP as during the last two Lok Sabha elections, BJP emerged victorius and this time also, BJP will be eyeing to win the seat.
In 2019, BJP's Sukhbir Singh Jaunapuria had secured 6,44,319 votes (52.2%) in Tonk-Sawai Madhopur Lok Sabha seat. Whereas Namonarayan from the Indian Narional Congress secured 5,33,028 votes (43.2%)
In 2014 as well, BJP's Sukhbir Singh Jaunapuria emerged victorius from the Tonk-Sawai Madhopur Lok Sabha seat and had secured 5,48,179 votes (52.6%) while Congress' Mohammad Azharuddin secured 4,12,868 votes (39.6%).
While speaking to ANI, Jaunapuria had said, "The Prime Minister has united everyone. The schemes are reaching every house of the nation... A lot of work has been done. And things have happened that have never been done before... The workers have a lot of enthusiasm..."
Meanwhile, Congress' Harish Chandra Meena took to his official X handle and had tweeted, "Tonk Sawai Madhopur's resolution, Congress is the only option. Today (April 21), party's State President Mr. Govind Singh Dotasara ji, Churu MP Mr. Rahul Kaswan ji, Leader of Opposition Mr. Tikaram Julie ji, Kishangarh MLA Mr. Vikas Chaudhary attended a huge public meeting organised in favour of the Congress Party in Malpura town of Tonk Sawai Madhopur... With the blessings of the godlike people of Tonk Sawai Madhopur, the victory of the Congress Party in the Lok Sabha elections is certain this time."
Polling in Rajasthan is being held in two phases, on April 19 and April 26. Polling for 12 Lok Sabha seats was held in the first phase on April 19, while the remaining 13 seats will go to the polls in the second phase on April 26.
The BJP won 24 out of 25 seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, while the Rashtriya Loktantrik Party won one. While in 2014 Lok Sabha elections, won in all 25 parliamentary constituencies.

  Share on

Related News