Sunday, June, 23,2024

Latest News

A perfect example of Jat politics and political influence

Jaipur: Sikar, known for its military legacy, holds a unique political status, particularly in Jat politics, nationally significant since the Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s 1999 announcement of Jat reservation here. Prominent leaders like Balram Jakhar and Chaudhary Devi Lal have represented Sikar in Parliament, enriching its political narrative.

Since its inception in 1952, Sikar’s parliamentary seat witnessed shifts in party dominance. Initially won by Nandlal Sharma of Ram Rajya Parishad, Congress secured victories in 1957 and 1962. The tide turned in 1967 with Gopal Saabu of Bharatiya Jana Sangh winning, followed by Congress reclaiming in 1971 with Shrikrishna Modi.

In 1977 Lok Sabha elections, Janata Party’s Jagdish Prasad Mathur won, succeeded by Kumbharam Arya of the same party in 1980. The seat alternated between Congress and Janata Dal in the late ‘80s, with Balram Jakhar and Devi Lal winning in 1984 and 1989, respectively. Jakhar reclaimed it in 1991, succeeded by Dr. Hari Singh in 1996.

The late ‘90s saw the rise of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), with Subhash Maharia winning consecutively until 2004. In 2009, Mahadev Singh Khandela of Congress secured victory, followed by Sumedhanand’s BJP wins in 2014 and 2019.

Sikar’s political narrative reflects the aspirations of the Jat community, shaping national discourse since Vajpayee’s landmark announcement. Its history of diverse political representation cements its significance in Rajasthan’s political map.

  Share on

Related News