Thursday, June, 13,2024

Latest News

KL Rahul thanks NCA, BCCI after clearing all fitness tests

Kandy: Before making a comeback into the Indian side in the Asia Cup 2023, Indian batter KL Rahul thanked the National Cricket Academy (NCA) staff for the treatment he received. 

KL Rahul has cleared all the fitness tests and he is ready to participate in the Super Four stage of the Asia Cup. 
Rahul took to X (formerly Twitter) to express his gratitude to BCCI and NCA after clearing all the fitness tests. 

"Reflecting on my journey in the last few months, which has been filled with challenges and lessons. The road has been humbling. A big shoutout to Nitin sir, Yogesh sir, Rajini sir, Dhananjay Bhai, Shalini and everyone at the NCA for your efforts and commitment towards getting me back on the ground Special mention to the team at Wellington Hospital in London and Dr. Rahul Patel for a smooth op. Lastly to the BCCI for the constant support and belief," he wrote in his X handle.

Rahul was ruled out of the first match of Asia Cup 2023 against Pakistan which will played on September 2 in Kandy, Sri Lanka.
Team India coach Rahul Dravid said at a press conference has said that KL Rahul is progressing well from the niggle he picked after recovering from his injury and will be under the National Cricket Academy (NCA) supervision till September 4.

“He (KL Rahul) had a good week with us, he is progressing really well on the route that we want to take, but he will be unavailable for the first part of the Kandy leg of the trip. The NCA will be looking after him while we are travelling. We will reassess him on fourth (September 4) and we will take it from there. The signs are good and he is progressing really well," Dravid said.

Pakistan, India and Nepal are in Group A while Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Sri Lanka are in Group B. The tournament will follow a hybrid model with Pakistan hosting four matches across two venues and Sri Lanka hosting the remaining games.
The six group-stage matches will be followed by the Super Fours beginning September 6.

The final will be played by the top two teams at the end of the Super Fours on September 17 in Colombo.Indian Squad: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna. 

  Share on

Related News