Sunday, June, 23,2024

Latest News

"Why is the life of the poor still miserable?": BSP supremo Mayawati attacks BJP government

Lucknow: Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) president Mayawati targeted the BJP over its promise of bringing good days for farmers, poor and other deprived people of the country, asking what happened to those much-publicised promises and why the lives of crores of poor, SC, ST, OBC, minorities continue to be miserable?
In a post on X, Mayawati said, "In the second phase of Lok Sabha elections in the country today, especially the poor, unemployed, farmers, women and other deprived people must think that you have brought the good days of BJP but what happened to their much-publicized and tempting promise of bringing 'good days' for you? Rather, why is their life so troubled?"
"Like Congress' 'Garibi Hatao', BJP too has broken a big promise, whereas the government's basic duty is to run the country under the sacred humanitarian and welfare objectives of the Constitution and ensure the development of the Dalits. Then why are the lives of crores of poor, SC, ST, OBC, minorities continuously helpless and miserable?" she further said.
The BSP supremo also appealed to people to exercise their universal franchise without any fear and elect a government.
"The country's and people's interest lies in voting for bringing poverty and unemployment-free 'good days' for the country and its nearly 125 crore hardworking people rather than for any particular person or party. Come forward to vote for a 'good government' that is pro-Bhaujan in the country. Hence 'first vote, then refreshment'," Mayawati added.
On April 25, The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) released a fresh list of three candidates from Uttar Pradesh's Rae Bareli, Ambedkar Nagar and Bahraich.
While Thakur Prasad Yadav has been fielded from Rae Bareli, Kamar Hayat Ansari will be contesting from Ambedkar Nagar and Brijesh Kumar Sonker will fight from Bahraich, a Scheduled Caste reserved constituency.
In its first list, the BSP has nominated Mazid Ali from Saharanpur, Shreepal Singh from Kairana, Dara Singh Prajapati from Muzaffarnagar, Vijendra Singh from Bijnor, Surendra Pal Singh from Nagina, Mohammad Irfan Saifi from Moradabad, Zeeshan Khan from Rampur, Shaukat Ali from Sambhal, Mujahid Hussain from Amroha, Devratt Tyagi from Meerut, Praveen Bansal from Baghpat, Rajendra Singh Solanki from Gautam Buddha Nagar, Girish Chandra Jatav from Bulandshahr, Abid Ali from Aonla, Aneesh Ahmed Khan alia Phool Babu from Pilibhit, and Dodram Verma from Shahjahanpur.
Uttar Pradesh, which sends the maximum number of MPs, 80, to Parliament, is voting in all seven phases.
Voting for phase one was held on April 13 and polling for phase two is underway.
Next, the state will once again poll in phases three and four on May 7 and May 13. The Uttar Pradesh electorate will also vote in phases five, six and seven on May 20, May 23 and June 1 respectively.
The votes will be counted on June 4.

  Share on

Related News