Friday, June, 21,2024

Latest News

"We'll support 'No Confidence Motion'...": Dushyant Chautala on Haryana political crisis

Hissar: Jannayak Janta Party (JJP) leader Dushyant Chautala on Thursday offered to "consider" outside support to the Congress to bring down the Haryana government and said that the Governor has the power to order a floor test, adding that if the government doesn't have the majority, then they should immediately implement President's Rule in the state.
"The government that was formed two months back is now in the minority because two of the MLAs who supported them--one from the BJP and the other an Independent MLA--have resigned. Three Independent MLAs who were supporting them have withdrawn their support and have written to the Governor. JJP has clearly said that if a No Confidence Motion is brought against this government, we will support the motion. We have also written to the Governor about it. Now, Congress has to take this step (seeking a floor test). Congress will have to decide if they are going to take any steps to corner the current BJP government or not," Chautala told ANI.
He further said that the Governor should implement President's Rule in Haryana if the state government doesn't have the "majority."
"The Governor has the power to order a floor test to see if the government has the strength and if it doesn't have the majority, immediately implement President's Rule in the state," he added.
Earlier on May 7, the Haryana government suffered a jolt when three independent MLAs withdrew support from the Nayab Saini government, pushing the government into a minority. The three MLAs are Randhir Golan from Pundri, Dharmpal Gonder from Nilokheri and Sombir Singh Sangwan from Charkhi Dadri. All of them decided to extend support to Congress.
However, the BJP appears confident of retaining power, with former Chief Minister Manhora Lal Khattar claiming that leaders of the Congress and the JJP were in touch with the BJP.
The development came amid the Lok Sabha polls and within two months of Nayab Singh Saini taking over as Chief Minister of the state after replacing Manohar Lal Khattar.
In the House of 90, the BJP has 39 MLAs, the Congress has 30, the Jan Nayak Janata Party has 10, the Haryana Lokhit Party (HLP) has one, and the Indian National Lok Dal has one, along with seven Independents.
The BJP, which had 41 MLAs initially, was reduced to 39 when the Karnal and Rania seats fell vacant following the resignation of two MLAs.
Earlier, six out of seven Independent MLAs used to support the BJP. With three Independents withdrawing their support, the BJP at present, has the support of three Independents and one HLP MLA, making it a government of 43 MLAs.
The 10 Lok Sabha seats in the state go to the polls on May 25.

  Share on

Related News