Friday, July, 19,2024

Latest News

"We have sympathy for KP Yadav...": Digvijay Singh on BJP fielding Jyotiraditya Scindia from MP's Guna

Bhopal: Congress leader Digvijay Singh on Sunday said that his sympathies are with KP Yadav, who has not been given a ticket this time by the Bharatiya Janata Party.
BJP has fielded Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia from Madhya Pradesh's Guna seat in place of Krishna Pal Singh Yadav who had defeated Scindia in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections when he was in the Congress.
"They (BJP) have done their work we will do ours. We have sympathy for KP Yadav, who has not been given a ticket this time," Digvijay Singh said.
Meanwhile, BJP on Saturday announced its first list of 195 candidates, which included PM Modi from Varanasi again.
This is the third time PM Modi will be contesting from the Varanasi seat. In 2014, he defeated AAP supremo Arvind Kejriwal, and in 2019, won against Samajwadi Party's Shalini Yadav.
Ravi Kishan, a well-known Bhojpuri actor, will run for office again from Gorakhpur, the stronghold of Yogi Adityanath.
The current Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath held the seat till 2017. Of the 195 candidates, 34 are Ministers from the Centre and States, and two are former Chief Ministers.
Expressing her gratitude to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s high command for announcing her candidature for the third time from the Mathura Constituency, party MP Hema Malini said on Sunday that she had done many things in her previous terms and wanted to do much bigger work so that Mathura's level can be raised more.
Hema Malini defeated Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Jayant Chaudhary from the Mathura seat in the 2014 general elections. She won again from this seat in the 2019 elections.
This is the third time that the BJP has given a ticket to Hema Malini. She has been contesting elections from the Mathura seat since 2014.
In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won a total of 303 seats, leaving the grand-old party behind at 52 seats. The BJP formed the government with its NDA alliance winning 353 seats.
The Lok Sabha polls are slated to be held in April-May this year.

  Share on

Related News