Friday, June, 14,2024

Latest News

"Wave against BJP in Haryana" says Priyanka Gandhi at Sirsa road show

Sirsa: Congress General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra held a roadshow in Sirsa on Thursday in support of the party's candidate Kumari Selja.
The Congress leader was seated on a specially designed vehicle and was greeting the huge number of people gathered there.
Congress workers and supporters were seen walking along the roadshow with flags and posters of the party.
Speaking to ANI, Priyanka Gandhi said that the people are tired of the politics done by the BJP.
"There is a wave against the BJP in Haryana. People are tired of their (BJP) politics. There is too much unemployment, inflation is at its peak. Change will come," she said.
On Wednesday, at another election rally the Congress general secretary accused the Prime Minister of silence on the issues of inflation and unemployment.
"When the Prime Minister comes in front of you, the words inflation and unemployment do not come out of his mouth. After running the government for ten years, he talks about Mangalsutra and buffalo theft. He neither tells what he has done, nor does he tell what he will do," she said.
The Sirsa Lok Sabha constituency in Haryana is poised for a high-stakes electoral contest on May 25 during the Sixth Phase.
This constituency, encompassing nine legislative assembly segments: Narwana, Tohana, Fatehabad, Ratia, Kalanwali, Dabwali, Rania, Sirsa, and Ellenabad is witnessing a significant face-off between BJP's Ashok Tanwar and Congress' Kumari Selja.
Historically, Sirsa has been a Congress stronghold. However, the political landscape shifted in 2014 when the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) clinched the seat. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which has never won here, is now fielding Ashok Tanwar, a recent convert from the Congress.
In the 2019 elections, BJP's Sunita Duggal won decisively with 714,351 votes, defeating Ashok Tanwar of Congress by a margin of 309,918 votes. This marked a significant gain for BJP in a traditionally non-BJP constituency.
In Haryana, the Congress and the AAP will fight in alliance, with the Congress contesting nine Lok Sabha constituencies while one seat from Kurukshetra has been given to the AAP.
In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in the state, the BJP swept the state, capturing all 10 seats. In the 2014 elections, the BJP won 7 seats, while the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) won 2 seats and the Congress secured only one seat.

  Share on

Related News