Thursday, July, 18,2024

Latest News

Union Minister Pralhad Joshi wins Dharwad seat, former CM Bommai wins Haveri

New Delhi: Union Minister Pralhad Joshi has won Karnataka's Dharwad seat by a margin of 97,324 votes.
The incumbent BJP candidate, Pralhad Joshi, was in the electoral fray against the Congress challenger Vinod Asooti.
Voting was concluded at the seat on May 7.
Joshi got 7,16,231 votes.
Former Chief Minister of Karnataka, Basavaraj Bommai, has also won the Haveri seat garnering 7,05,538 votes.
Meanwhile, in Karnataka's 28 seats, the BJP has won seven seats and is leading on 10.
Janata Dal (Secular), which is an ally with the BJP in NDA, has so far won two seats.
Congress has won one seat and is leading on eight.
Meanwhile, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by the BJP is ahead in 293 seats, while the INDIA bloc is leading in 233 seats, indicating a significant gain for the latter, according to the latest trends.
The Congress, which won merely 52 seats in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, is currently leading in 95 seats, while the BJP is ahead in 234 seats.
The BJP-led NDA is heading towards a majority in the Lok Sabha polls but with reduced strength from its 2019 tally as the opposition INDIA bloc put up a strong performance, riding on the gains by its constituents, with Congress also showing resilience in the crucial electoral fight.
The BJP-led NDA appears far from its target of "400 Paar," with the BJP falling short of a simple majority in Lok Sabha, according to the latest trends.
The BJP-led NDA, under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, fought the Lok Sabha elections for a third straight term in office.
The Lok Sabha polls were held in seven phases from April 19 to June 1.

  Share on

Related News