Friday, June, 14,2024

Latest News

TMC leader Yusuf Pathan holds roadshow in Kolkata

Kolkata: Cricketer-turned-politician and Trinamool Congress candidate from Berhampore, Yusuf Pathan, held a roadshow in support of TMC's Lok Sabha candidate Mala Roy from Kolkata Dakshin on Wednesday.
He exuded confidence that the Trinamool Congress Party would outperform in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections in the state.
Addressing the media, the TMC leader hailed Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and said, "We will outperform in the election in Bengal and win the majority of the seats, as Mamata Banerjee and her political aides, including party workers, have effortlessly worked for the public of West Bengal. From women to youths, she has worked for each section of society."
He further added, "Wherever I have been, I found people out that each section of society loves Mamata Banerjee, Akash Banerjee and the party. I got a very positive response and we will definitely win the elections."
The TMC has fielded Mala Roy from the Kolkata Dakshin Lok Sabha constituency, who is seeking her second term in parliament, while the INDIA bloc has filed Saira Shah Halim of the CPI (M) for the seat. Debasri Chaudhary from the BJP is seeking her victory from the seat.
Kolkata Dakshin is a stronghold of TMC, as Mamata Banerjee was a Member of Parliament from this seat for almost 20 years, i.e., from 1991 to 2011.
Earlier, on Wednesday, during a public meeting in West Bengal, PM Modi accused the Trinamool Congress-led government in West Bengal of opposing the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) for political gain and said Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee wanted to settle infiltrators in the state.
He also attacked TMC for granting OBC certificates to the Muslim community.
He said, "For appeasement, TMC is attacking the Constitution. Our Constitution provides reservations for the marginalised sections of society. TMC overnight granted OBC status to the entire Muslim community, thereby transferring the reservations meant for SCs, STs, and OBCs to Muslims. The Calcutta High Court has cancelled these certificates. TMC cannot go against the court's orders, yet it is willing to lie to the Muslims for the sake of appeasement."
Six phases of the Lok Sabha elections are over and the final phase will be held on June 1 in 57 constituencies in eight states and union territories. The polling for 42 seats of West Bengal is being held across all seven phases.
Polling in Kolkata North, along with Basirhat, Barasat, Diamond Harbour, Dum Dum, Jaynagar, Jadavpur, Kolkata South and Mathurapur, will be held in the seventh and final phase of the Lok Sabha election on June 1 in West Bengal. The vote counting will take place on June 4.

  Share on

Related News