Saturday, June, 22,2024

Latest News

"The dictatorship of BJP across country has angered people:" Delhi Mayor Shelly Oberoi

New Delhi: Delhi Mayor Shelly Oberoi spearheaded the 'Jail ka Jawab Vote Se' signature campaign on Tuesday, launched by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), to protest the arrest of Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal in the Delhi excise policy case.
The campaign, which kicked off at the Karol Bagh metro station, aims to garner public support against what they perceive as the overreaching power of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the stifling of dissent across the nation.
Mayor Oberoi emphasized the widespread discontent among the populace, citing the BJP's alleged dictatorship and its suppression of opposition voices as key grievances.
"The dictatorship of the BJP across the country has angered the people, and they're ready to respond. People are fed up with how the opposition and dissent are being silenced, how threats are used to withdraw candidatures in other states, and how democracy and the Constitution are being eroded. People are fully supportive, and this time, they're prepared to vote to hold those in power accountable. They understand the power of their vote, a power that can save our nation," Oberoi said.
"AAP signature campaign is taking place in all the markets of Delhi. Today we're standing in the Karol Bagh market, garnering support through signatures. AAP is contesting from 4 seats in Delhi this time, with 3 of our candidates from Congress and the INDIA alliance," she added.
AAP's campaign in Karol Bhag has drawn attention, with citizens expressing solidarity by signing the board bearing the message "I support Kejriwal."
On May 10, the top court granted Arvind Kejriwal interim bail till June 1 in the money laundering case registered by the ED in connection with the Delhi excise policy, however, ordered that he not visit the Office of the Chief Minister and the Delhi Secretariat.
The bench had asked Kejriwal to surrender on June 2.
Voting in seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi will be held on May 25. The counting of the votes will be done on June 4. As part of the seat-sharing arrangement, the Congress is contesting three seats while AAP has fielded candidates from four constituencies in Delhi.

  Share on

Related News