Thursday, June, 13,2024

Latest News

Rourkela: BJP MLA candidate Dilip Ray casts first vote from the booth

Rourkela: Former Union Minister and Bharatiya Janata Party MLA candidate from Rourkela Assembly Constituency, Dilip Ray, cast the first vote at the Sundargarh booth in Rourkela district of Odisha.
He also exuded confidence that the Bharatiya Janata Party will form government in the Centre and Odisha.
On casting the first vote from the booth, BJP MLA candidate Dilip Ray said, "In my homeland, I have always cast the first vote in this booth. Also, I urge all the voters to come out and cast their votes in large numbers. So far, wherever I have been, I have witnessed a queue of voters from 6:30 am, and I hope voter turnout will be higher this time as compared to the last elections."
Meanwhile, Dilip Ray also reiterated his belief in a BJP victory in the assembly and Lok Sabha polls.
"Every candidate contests elections to win, but it's the public who decides. But I am confident that the BJP will definitely form a government in Centre and Odisha. We are set to win with strong numbers," said Dilip Ray.
Meanwhile, 5T Chairman & BJD leader VK Pandian appeared confident of the BJD retaining the state and doing well in the Lok Sabha elections as well
"...People have faith in BJD and BJD will sweep the second phase of elections," he said.
The assembly and Lok Sabha elections in Odisha are taking place simultaneously. The elections are being held in four phases, from May 13 to June 1.
On Monday morning, voting began across 35 Assembly seats and 5 Lok Sabha constituencies in Odisha amid tight security and arrangements.
Elections on 42 assembly segments and six Lok Sabha seats will be conducted on May 25, while elections on the remaining 42 assembly seats and six Lok Sabha seats will go for voting in the last phase on June 1.
The counting of votes will be held on June 4.
In the last assembly elections in 2019, the BJD won 112 out of 146 seats. BJP won 23 seats and Congress got nine seats.
In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJD mopped up the lion's share of the electoral spoils, with the BJP and the Congress bringing up the rear. The BJD won 12 seats, the BJP finished a close second at 8, and the Congress bagged just a lone seat.

  Share on

Related News