Saturday, July, 13,2024

Latest News

Punjab CM Bhagwant Mann, his wife cast vote in Sangrur, appeal to people to "choose good representative"

Sangrur: Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Mann and his wife Dr Gurpreet Kaur vote at a polling booth in Sangrur constituency in the seventh and final phase of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024 on Saturday.
Mann also appealed to the people of Punjab to come out of their homes and vote to choose good representatives who can work for them.
"People of Punjab are aware and they vote in large numbers. We should use our right to vote. I appeal to Punjabis to come out of their homes and vote and choose good representatives who can work for you. Today I cast my vote with my wife. There was some issue with VVPAT (at the polling booth) and the officials replaced it," the Punjab CM said.
Mann's wife Gurpreet Kaur appealed to the women of the state to come out and vote in large numbers.
"I appeal to women to come out and vote in large numbers. We should also contribute to electing a good government that can work for us," she said.
Sangrur constituency sees a contest between Congress' Sukhpal Singh Khaira, BJP's Arvind Khanna, AAP's Gurmeet Singh Meet Hayer and SAD's Iqbal Singh Jhundan and Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar)'s Simranjit Singh Mann.
Voting for all seats in Punjab is underway in a single phase, with the seventh and final phase. The constituencies include Gurudaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Nandpur Sahib, Ludhiana, Fatehgarh Sahib, Faridkot, Firozpur, Bathinda, Sangrur, and Patiala.
The seventh phase marks a grand finish to the world's largest polling marathon that began on the 19th of last month and has already covered six phases and 486 Lok Sabha seats.
Voting started in the last 57 parliamentary constituencies at 7 am today across seven states and the Union Territory of Chandigarh.
According to the Election Commission of India, over 10.06 crore electors including approximately 5.24 crore male, 4.82 crore female and 3574 third gender electors are expected to exercise their franchise.
The seven States in which polling is underway include Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and the Union Territory of Chandigarh. Polling for the remaining 42 Assembly constituencies of the Odisha State Legislative Assembly will also take place simultaneously.
Polling for the earlier six phases of Lok Sabha elections was held on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20 and May 25. Assembly polls have also been held in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh. Odisha is seeing simultaneous polls to Lok Sabha and assembly in the last four phases.

  Share on

Related News