Tuesday, May, 28,2024

President Kovind congratulates Nikhat Zareen for winning gold at World Boxing C'ships

New Delhi: President Ram Nath Kovind on Friday congratulated Nikhat Zareen for winning gold at the 12th edition of the IBA Women's World Boxing Championships in Istanbul.

Taking to Twitter, the President said, "Heartiest congratulations to Nikhat Zareen for the gold medal at the Women's World Boxing Championship. The nation is proud of her. I am confident that her success will motivate our youth, especially girls to realize their dreams. I wish she continues bringing laurels to the country."

Earlier, Prime Minister Narendra Modi also lauded Nikhat Zareen for clinching gold at World Boxing Championships.
Indian boxer Nikhat registered a dominating 5-0 victory in the final. Living up to the expectations, Nikhat thrashed Thailand's Jitpong Jutamas without breaking a sweat in the 52kg final with judges scoring the bout 30-27, 29-28, 29-28, 30-27, 29-28 in the Indian's favour.

The Nizamabad (Telangana)-born boxer became the only fifth Indian woman to secure a gold medal at the World Boxing Championships after record six-time champion Mary Kom (2002, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2010 and 2018), Sarita Devi (2006), Jenny RL (2006) and Lekha KC (2006).

It was also India's first gold medal since boxing great Mary Kom won it in 2018.

With Manisha (57kg) and Parveen (63kg) signing off with bronze medals after their semi-finals finish, Indian contingent concluded its campaign with three medals at the world's biggest boxing event, which witnessed exciting competition in presence of record 310 boxers from 73 countries and also marked the 20th anniversary of the Women's World Championships.

Out of 12 participating Indian boxers, eight made it to the quarter-finals in this year's tournament--the joint highest alongside Turkey.

With the addition of three medals in Istanbul, India's overall medal tally has gone up to 39, including 10 gold, eight silver and 21 bronze, in the 12 editions of the prestigious event--third highest after Russia (60) and China (50). (ANI)

  Share on

Related News