Monday, July, 15,2024

Latest News

"Murugha mutt never participates in political matters": Mallikarjunashree distances itself from lingayat pontiff's remarks

Hubbali (Karnataka): After a Lingayat pontiff in Karnataka called for replacing Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Prahlad Joshi from Dharwad constituency for the Lok Sabha elections, Murugha Mutt has distanced itself from the remarks while refusing to participate in political matters.

"It's his personal opinion' and not the collective lingayat community's or mutt's opinion'," said Mallikarjunashree of Dharwad Muruga Mutt, who clarified that the statement of Dingaleshwara Swami has nothing to do with mutt.

Speaking at a press conference held in Dharwad on Thursday, Dingaleshwara Swami,a lingayat pontiff, targeted Union Minister Prahlad Joshi.

"Joshi has done his revenge politics. The Dharwad Lok Sabha ticket should be changed. We will convey this to the BJP High Command. The majority of Lingayat votes are in Dharwad district," Dingaleshwara Swami said.

Dingaleshwara Swami also alleged, "It was Pralhad Joshi who removed BS Yediyurappa from the post of Chief Minister."

Speaking to the media in the city, Mallikarjunashree of Dharwad Muruga Mutt said, "Swamiji's statement has nothing to do with the Dharwad Muruga Mutt. Our mutt never participates in political matters."

He said, "I have nothing to do with the current controversy."

BJP Candidate Pralhad Joshi on Saturday "feigned ignorance" and said he will win their blessings.

Responding to the pontiff's demand, Joshi said, "I'm not aware. I don't want to react to their statements. I'll win with their blessings. I can't say more."

Karnataka, which has 28 Lok Sabha seats, will vote in two phases on April 26 and May 7.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress and JD-S fought together against the BJP and the combine was decimated.

The BJP had won a record 25 seats; Congress and JD-S won just one seat each. The Lok Sabha Elections 2024 will be held in seven phases, starting on April 19. The counting of votes is on June 4.

  Share on

Related News