Friday, June, 14,2024

Latest News

LS polls: Congress fields Sher Singh Ghubaya from Punjab's Firozpur

Firozpur: The All India Congress Committee (AICC) in a press release on Tuesday approved the candidature of Sher Singh Ghubaya to run for Lok Sabha elections from the Firozpur constituency of Punjab.
In a press release, the AICC said, "The Central Election Committee has approved the candidature of Shri Sher Singh Ghubaya as Congress candidate to contest the ensuing general elections to the Lok Sabha from 10 - Firozpur Parliamentary constituency of Punjab."
In Punjab, voting for its 13 seats will take place in a single phase, with the seventh and final phase on June 1 seeing voting in Firozpur, Ludhiana, Gurdaspur, Amritsar, Khadoor Sahib, Jalandhar, Hoshiarpur, Nandpur Sahib, Fatehgarh Sahib, Faridkot, Bathinda, Sangrur, and Patiala constituencies.
Meanwhile, the polling is going on for 93 Lok Sabha seats across 12 states and union territories in the third phase of the general election on Tuesday.
The states and union territories where the elections are being held in this phase are Assam (4), Bihar (5), Chhattisgarh (7), Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (2), Goa (2), Gujarat (25), Karnataka (14), Maharashtra (11), Madhya Pradesh (8), Uttar Pradesh (10) and West Bengal (4). The BJP has bagged the Surat seat unopposed.
In this phase, more than 1300 candidates, including around 120 women, are in the fray.
A total of 17.24 crore voters are eligible to cast their franchise in this phase at 1.85 lakh polling stations. Prominent leaders to contest in today's poll battle include Union Home Minister Amit Shah, former Madhya Pradesh chief ministers Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Digvijaya Singh, Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, Union Health Minister Mansukh Mandaviya, Samajwadi Party leader Dimple Yadav, and NCP (SP) leader Supriya Sule, among others.
In the 2019 general election, the BJP won 72 of the 93 seats that go to the polls today. The Lok Sabha elections are being held across seven phases, from April 19 to June 1. The counting is scheduled for June 4. 

  Share on

Related News