Thursday, May, 30,2024

Latest News

Lok Sabha polls: YS Sharmila files nomination from Kadapa seat in Andhra Pradesh

Kadapa: YS Sharmila, Andhra Pradesh Congress chief and party's candidate, filed her nomination from the Kadapa seat on Saturday.
Earlier this year, Sharmila joined Congress and merged her party, the YSR Telangana Party, into Congress.
She also held a roadshow in the constituency before filing her nomination papers.
The Kadapa Constituency will vote in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha election on May 13.
The Kadapa seat comprises seven Assembly segments: Badvel, Kadapa, Pulivendla, Kamalapuram, Jammalamadugu, Proddatur and Mydukur.
The Kadapa seat at present is represented by YS Sharmila's cousin, Avinash Reddy.
In the 2019 election, Y.S. Avinash Reddy of Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party got 7,83,499 votes.
Chadipirala Adi Narayana Reddy from the TDP got 4,02,773 votes, while Gundlakunta Sreeramulu from Congress received 8,341 votes.
The Assembly and Lok Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh will be simultaneously held on May 13. The counting of votes will happen on June 4.
Notably, Andhra Pradesh has 175 Assembly seats, and 25 Lok Sabha seats.
In the 2019 Assembly elections, the YSRCP won with a thumping majority of 151 seats, while the TDP was confined to 23 seats. In the Lok Sabha polls, the YSRCP won 22 seats, while the TDP could only win three seats.

  Share on

Related News