Monday, June, 17,2024

Latest News

INDIA bloc's Sarfaraz Ahmad, Pradeep Verma of BJP file nominations for RS polls

Ranchi: INDIA bloc's candidate Sarfaraz Ahmad and BJP-led NDA's Pradeep Verma on Monday filed their nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha polls in Jharkhand.

Seventy-year-old Ahmad, a former JMM MLA, was accompanied by Chief Minister Champai Soren, state minister Alamgir Alam of the Congress and CPI (ML) L legislator Vinod Singh to the electoral office at Jharkhand Assembly.

Similarly, Verma (52) was accompanied by BJP state president Babulal Marandi, Leader of Opposition Amar Bauri, AJSU Party legislator Lambodar Mahto and NCP MLA Kamlesh Singh.

Ahmad's candidacy was confirmed at a meeting between the CM and senior Congress leaders on Sunday evening.

The biennial election for the two Rajya Sabha seats from the state is scheduled for March 21, an official said.

The tenure of the current Rajya Sabha MPs from the state, Samir Oraon of the BJP and Diraj Prasad Sahu of the Congress, is set to end on May 3, necessitating fresh elections to fill the vacancies.

The nomination process, which commenced on March 4, is set to conclude on Monday, with the deadline for withdrawal of candidature set for March 14.

Polling is scheduled to take place between 9 am and 4 pm on March 21 on the Jharkhand Assembly premises, with counting slated for the same day at 5 pm.

Based on the numerical strength of the state assembly, comprising 81 members, both the ruling alliance and the opposition are expected to secure one seat each in the upcoming polls.

  Share on

Related News