Saturday, July, 20,2024

Latest News

INDIA bloc should stop dreaming of forming govt at Centre: Chhattisgarh Dy CM Vijay Sharma

Raipur: Chhattisgarh Deputy Chief Minister Vijay Sharma took a swipe at the opposition INDIA bloc on Thursday, saying that they should stop dreaming of forming the government at the Centre.
"Prime Minister Modi will become the Prime Minister of the country for the third time. Tomorrow there will be a meeting of MPs, CMs, and Dy CMs," Sharma told reporters in Raipur.
"We will start working for the people and they (the opposition) will have to think about the next election. They (opposition) shouldn't be seeing the dream of forming the government," he added.
As the BJP falls 32 seats short of a full majority on its own in the Lok Sabha, the INDIA bloc has kept its door open for the JD (U) and the TDP, which are now in the NDA and without them, the alliance will fall short of the majority mark of 272.
However, the NDA meeting, held on Wednesday, reposed faith in Modi and chose him as the leader of the alliance, paving the way for him to become the PM for the third straight time.
After the meeting, Modi said that the NDA will further national progress and fulfil regional aspirations.
"We will serve the 140 crore people of India and work towards building a Viksit Bharat," the PM said in a post on X, following a crucial meeting at his residence in Delhi.
After taking part in the National Democratic Alliance meeting in the national capital on Wednesday to discuss the formation of the new government, TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu affirmed that the TDP is with the NDA.
Speaking on the meeting with BJP's top leadership, Naidu said that the meeting was good. On being asked about being a part of the NDA, Naidu said, "How can we contest elections if we are not a part of the NDA? We fought this collectively."Notably, NDA leaders unanimously passed a resolution in the meeting, electing Narendra Modi as their leader.
The meeting was attended by BJP president JP Nadda, BJP leaders Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh, and the BJP's allies, including Janata Dal (United) chief Nitish Kumar, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) supremo N Chandrababu Naidu, Shiv Sena chief Eknath Shinde, Janata Dal (Secular) leader HD Kumaraswamy, Janasena Party chief Pawan Kalyan, Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) chief Chirag Paswan, and Nationalist Congress Party leader Praful Patel, among others.
As per the results announced by the Election Commission of India on Tuesday, the BJP won 240 seats and the Congress 99 seats.
Meanwhile, President Droupadi Murmu dissolved the 17th Lok Sabha on Wednesday after the recommendation of the Union Cabinet."The President accepted the advice of the Cabinet on June 5, 2024, and signed the Order dissolving the 17th Lok Sabha in the exercise of the powers conferred upon her by Sub-Clause (2) of Article 85 of the Constitution," a statement issued by the Rashtrapati Bhavan said.

  Share on

Related News