Sunday, June, 23,2024

Latest News

Former Haryana CM Khattar casts his vote, says "Congress candidate is not a challenge for me"

Karnal: Former Chief Minister of Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar on Wednesday cast his vote in the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha polls and said that the Congress candidate is not a challenge for him.
Manohar Lal Khattar is in the electoral fray from Haryana's Karnal seat against Congress candidate Divyanshu Budhiraja.
Khattar said, "I have cast my vote. I appeal to the people to participate in this festival of democracy and also appeal to vote for the BJP party. The Congress candidate is not a challenge for me..."
"I will visit all the 9 assembly segments at the end of the day," he added.
Congress leader Bhupinder Singh Hooda also appealed to people to exercise their right to vote and vote in large numbers.
Congress candidate from Rohtak Lok Sabha seat, Deepender Singh Hooda said, "I have full confidence, not just Rohtak seat but Congress and its alliance will win all the 10 seats in Haryana."
Earlier, Prime Minister Narendra Modi also urged voters to come out in large numbers and exercise their franchise in the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha polls.
In a post on X, the Prime Minister said "I urge all those who are voting in the 6th phase of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections to vote in large numbers. Every vote counts, make yours count too! Democracy thrives when its people are engaged and active in the electoral process. I especially urge women voters and youth voters to vote in large numbers."
A total of 58 constituencies from six states and two union territories are set for polls in the sixth phase of polling and over 11.13 crore voters will be exercising their franchise to decide the fate of 889 candidates including two former Chief Ministers - Manohar Lal Khattar contesting as the BJP candidate from Karnal and Mehbooba Mufti, the PDP nominee from Anantnag-Rajouri.
The sixth phase of Lok Sabha polls includes eight seats in Bihar, all 10 seats in Haryana, one seat in Jammu and Kashmir, four in Jharkhand, all seven seats in Delhi, six in Odisha, 14 in Uttar Pradesh, and eight in West Bengal.
As per the ECI, over 11.13 crore voters, including 5.84 crore males, 5.29 crore females, and 5120 third-gender electors will decide the fate of 889 candidates today. The ECI also said that there are over 8.93 lakh registered 85 plus years old, 23,659 voters above 100 years and 9.58 lakh PwD voters for phase 6 who have been provided the option to vote from the comfort of their homes. Around 11.4 lakh Polling officials will welcome over 11.13 crore voters across 1.14 lakh polling stations.

  Share on

Related News