Wednesday, May, 29,2024

Latest News


Lucknow: The BJP has planned to expand its base among the Yadavs, Jatavs and Pasmanda Muslims as part of its strategy to win all 80 Lok Sabha seats in the 2024 general election.

Uttar Pradesh Deputy CM and former state BJP president Keshav Prasad Maurya had also dropped a hint in a recent tweet, saying Yaduvanshi (Yadavs), Ravidasiyo (Jatavs) and Pasmanda Muslims will be brought closer to the BJP so that the lotus “blossoms” in every booth in UP.

After the party’s victory in the Azamgarh and Rampur Lok Sabha bypolls, CM Yogi Adityanath had claimed that it will win all 80 seats in next general election.

While OBC Yadavs and Muslims form the Samajwadi Party’s “MY” vote bank, Jatavs have been siding with the BSP led by Mayawati so far. SP’s national secretary Rajendra Chaudhary trashed Maurya’s assertions and said his party doesn’t believe in politics of casteism.

“Our ideology is based on socialism and social justice,” Chaudhary said.

Sources in the BJP said the party has planned to launch a comprehensive mass contact campaign to reach out to Yadavs, Jatavs and Pasmanda Muslims in course of its “Tiranga Yatra” week from August 11 to 17. Of 1.70 lakh booths in the 80 Lok Sabha seats in UP, the BJP feels it has comparatively lesser influence on 22,000.

According to sources, most of these booths are dominated by Yadav, Jatav and Muslim voters. They said on state secretary (organisation) Sunil Bansal’s instruction, BJP MPs and MLAs had recently undertaken mass contact programmes to increase the party’s footprint.

BJP has 64 MPs from UP while its ally Apna Dal (Sonelal) has two.

The BSP has 10 MPs while the Samajwadi Party’s tally came down to three after it lost Azamgarh and Rampur seats to the BJP in the bypolls held recently. Sonia Gandhi is the sole MP of the Congress. She represents the Rae Bareli seat.

Yadavs form 11% of the UP’s population. Dalits are around 21% of the population and Muslim’s presence is estimated at 18%.

Among the Dalits, Jatavs are numerically strong. Seventeen Lok Sabha seats are reserved for Scheduled Castes in UP. Yadav and Muslim voters decide in 10 Lok Sabha constituencies each.

  Share on

Related News