Monday, July, 22,2024

Latest News

"Every vote by citizen will decide direction and condition of country:" AAP MP Raghav Chadha after casting his vote

Mohali: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MP Raghav Chadha emphasized the significance of each vote in shaping the nation's future on Saturday, as he cast his ballot in the seventh and final phase of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024.
"Today is the grand festival of India. Every vote by the citizen will decide the direction and condition of the country. I request everyone to exercise their right to vote," Chadha said.
Chadha shows his inked finger after casting his vote at a polling station in Lakhnaur, Sahibzada Ajit Singh Nagar under the Anandpur Sahib constituency.
Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituencies in Punjab state.
BJP has fielded Subhash Sharma for the upcoming elections from this seat while INC has fielded Vijay Inder Singla. AAP has given a ticket to Malvinder Singh Kang from this constituency.
In 2019, INC candidate Manish Tewari won the 2019 General Election with a margin of 46,884 votes. Manish Tewari defeated Professor Prem Singh Chandumajra of the SAD.
The seventh phase marks a grand finish to the world's largest polling marathon that began on the 19th of last month and has already covered six phases and 486 Lok Sabha seats.
Voting started in the last 57 parliamentary constituencies at 7 am today across seven states and the Union Territory of Chandigarh.
According to the Election Commission of India, over 10.06 crore electors including approximately 5.24 crore male, 4.82 crore female and 3574 third gender electors are expected to exercise their franchise.
The seven States in which polling is scheduled include Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Odisha, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and the Union Territory of Chandigarh. Polling for the remaining 42 Assembly aonstituencies of the Odisha State Legislative Assembly will also take place simultaneously.
A total of 904 candidates are in the fray for the final phase of polling. The prominent candidates in the fray in this phase include Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders Ravi Shankar Prasad, Nishikant Dubey, Ravneet Singh Bittu, Congress leaders Manish Tewari, Charanjit Singh Channi, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leader Harsimrat Kaur Badal, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Misa Bharti.
Polling for the earlier six phases of Lok Sabha elections was held on April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, May 20 and May 25. Assembly polls have also been held in Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh. Odisha is seeing simultaneous polls to Lok Sabha and assembly in the last four phases.

  Share on

Related News