Saturday, July, 13,2024

Latest News

Andhra Pradesh: Nellore Mayor Sravanthi resigns from YSRCP

Nellore: Nellore Mayor Sravanthi on Monday resigned from the YSR Congress Party, which faced a dismal loss in both elections to the Andhra Pradesh Assembly and the Parliament, results for which were announced on June 4.
Sravanthi claimed that she was pressurised to continue in YSRCP after her mentor, Sridhar Reddy, who is currently a TDP MLA from Nellore Rural, quit the party in 2023.
"Sridhar Reddy gave me the corporator ticket despite lack of political background. He also made me the mayor. Many activists, like us, were given political opportunities because of him. He gave me courage in politics," Sravanthi told reporters.
"We made it clear that Sridhar Reddy would remain with us when he left YSRCP. At that time, I had to continue YSRCP under the pressure of the ruling party leaders. They pressured us to criticise Sridhar Reddy. He did not say a word. We want Sridhar Reddy to forgive our mistakes," she said.
In the Assembly election, the Jagan Mohan Reddy-led YSRCP won only 11 seats, down from the 151 it had won in the 2019 election.
YSRCP also put up a poor show in the Lok Sabha polls, which were held simultaneously with the Assembly polls, winning only four (Kadapa, Araku, Tirupati and Rajampet) of the 25 seats on offer. The TDP, on the other hand, won 16 seats, while its allies won three (the BJP) and two (the JSP), respectively.
While the TDP won 136 Assembly seats, the JSP and BJP emerged victorious in 21 and eight seats, respectively.
Anti-incumbency against the Jagan government was evident in the result, as 26 of its ministers lost the election.
Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief Chandrababu Naidu is poised to take oath as Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister on June 12 according to the Chief Minister's Office (CMO) said.
The Chief Minister-designate acknowledged on Friday that the dedicated efforts of Prime Minister Narendra Modi have changed the political scenario in Andhra Pradesh, which ultimately resulted in the massive victory of the NDA in the Lok Sabha elections.

  Share on

Related News