Monday, June, 24,2024

Latest News

LS Polls: Jharkhand Governor CP Radhakrishnan and BJP candidate Sanjay Seth exercise their right to vote

Ranchi: Jharkhand Governor CP Radhakrishnan cast his vote in the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections at his designated polling booth on Saturday morning.
He urged voters to vote on the issue of development. He also appealed to them to come out and vote in large numbers.
"My only appeal to the voters of Jharkhand is that you all must come out and vote. I have voted for development. I am always interested in development because it's the only way to create wealth, which can then be distributed. Nothing will eradicate poverty other than wealth, and wealth creation is possible only through development," he stated.
Meanwhile, Ranchi's sitting MP and BJP candidate Sanjay Seth, who is seeking his second term, was also spotted casting his vote in the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections. He conveyed that he sought blessings from Nandi Baba for Prime Minister Modi's success.
"I sought blessings from Nandi Baba and asked him to make Prime Minister Modi and his vision of 'Abhi Baar 400 Paar' more powerful," said Seth.
He also urged voters to make Ranchi a role model by achieving a high voter turnout. "I appealed to Nandi Baba to turn Ranchi's voter turnout to around 80 per cent. I appeal to all residents of the city to come out and vote in large numbers to make Ranchi a role model for the whole nation amid this searing and scalding heatwave," he added.
Voting for the sixth phase of the ongoing Lok Sabha elections began on Saturday morning across 58 parliamentary constituencies spread over six states and two Union Territories (UTs) amid tight security and arrangements.
The voting started at 7 am and will continue until 6 pm, with those in line by the closing time still allowed to vote.
The sixth phase of Lok Sabha polls includes eight seats in Bihar, all 10 seats in Haryana, one seat in Jammu and Kashmir, four in Jharkhand, all seven seats in Delhi, six in Odisha, 14 in Uttar Pradesh, and eight in West Bengal. A total of 889 candidates are in the fray.
According to the data of the Election Commission, Jharkhand recorded 11.74 per cent of the voter turnout till 9 am.
The four seats of Jharkhand that are undergoing the sixth phase of Lok Sabha polls are Ranchi, Dhanbad, Giridih and Jamshedpur.
Notably, the JMM is part of the INDIA bloc and is contesting elections in alliance with the Congress in Jharkhand and Odisha. While AJSU Part is part of the BJP-led NDA alliance.
In 2019, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won 12 seats in Jharkhand, with the former alone winning 11. The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) and Congress got one seat each.
The general elections are being held in seven phases and the counting is scheduled for June 4.

  Share on

Related News