Thursday, June, 20,2024

Latest News

Results out, Celebrations in

Ahmedabad: The BJP on Thursday registered a historic win in Gujarat even smashing the records of the 2002 election where the party under the leadership of Chief Minister Narendra Modi won 127 seats. Congress had blamed AAP and AIMIM for its poor show while Rahul Gandhi accepted the mandate and promised that the party will work hard. AAP's performance fell short in comparison with the glitz in their campaigning. But the votes in Gujarat made it a national party.

Gujarat CM Bhupendra Patel took over in September 2021 after his BJP removed incumbent Vijay Rupani, and is set to be sworn-in again on December 12 after the party’s landslide victory in the Assembly elections. The Patel ministry totalled 25, including the Chief Minister, but for the two-phase December elections, five ministers were denied tickets. Of the other 20, the Chief Minister and 18 others have got reelected to the Assembly. While Patel has won with a massive margin of 1,92,263 votes, other colleagues who won with large margins are Purnesh Modi (104,637), Harsh Sanghvi (131,675), Kanu Desai (97,164), Naresh Patel (93,166), and Manish Vakil (98,597). Other ministers who have won are Jitu Vaghani, Rishikesh Patel, Raghavji Patel, Kiritsinh Rana, Arjunsinh Chauhan, Jagdish Panchal, Jitu Chaudhary, Mukesh Patel, Nimisha Suthar, Kuberbhai Dindor, Gajendrasinh Parmar, Vinubhai Moradia and Devabhai Malam. But, minister Kirtisinh Vaghela lost the poll.

  Share on

Related News