Gandhinagar: Faced with the prospect of anti-incumbency in upcoming Gujarat elections, the ruling BJP has denied tickets to as many as 38 sitting MLAs, picking 69 of the incumbent lawmakers in its first list of candidates for the December 1 and 5 Assembly elections in Gujarat. The list of 160 candidates out of a total 182 was released by Union minister Bhupendra Yadav on Thursday. Notable names missing in the first list include former CM Vijay Rupani, former deputy CM Nitin Patel, former minister RC Faldu, Bhupendrasinh Chudasama and senior leader Pradipsinh Jadeja. Congress turncoats Hardik Patel, Bhagvanbhai Barad and Mohansinh Rathva’s son Rajendrabhai Rathva have been given tickets from Viramgam, Talala and Chhota Udepur, respectively. BJP has also fielded former MLA Kantilal Amrutiya from Morbi.

  Share on

Related News