Friday, June, 14,2024

Latest News

LS Polls: BJP candidate Kamaljeet Sehrawat casts her vote, says confident of winning

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party candidate from West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency Kamaljeet Sehrawat along with her family cast her vote in the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections on Saturday.
While praising Prime Minister Modi for his developmental works and efforts, she expressed her confidence in winning the elections.
Speaking to ANI, Kamaljeet Sehrawat said, "Today is a very important day. We have campaigned for 84 long days, including nukkad meetings, roadshows, rallies, drawing room meetings, and much more. We are confident of winning these elections because we have understood and communicated with people on the ground. We have received immense blessings from people, largely due to the PM's efforts over the last 10 years."
Addressing questions about the challenges posed by her opponent Mahabal Mishra, Sehrawat stated, "We are fighting these elections based on our 10-year report card and are further communicating our agenda for the next five years. We fight elections on our own merits and principles. We are confident of winning with a majority."
Mahabal Mishra was earlier a member of the Congress Party, but later he joined the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in 2022.
All seven Lok Sabha constituencies of the capital city of Delhi are undergoing polls today. These constituencies include New Delhi, North East Delhi, East Delhi, West Delhi, South Delhi, North West Delhi and Chandni Chowk.
In 2019, Parvesh Verma from the BJP emerged as a winner from this seat while Congress' Mahabal Mishra was the first runner-up followed by Balbir Jakhar of the Aam Aadmi Party.
Voting for the sixth phase of the ongoing Lok Sabha elections began on Saturday morning across 58 parliamentary constituencies spread over six states and two Union Territories (UTs) amid tight security and arrangements.
The voting started at 7 am and will continue until 6 pm, with those in line by the closing time still allowed to vote.
Meanwhile, the National Capital Territory of Delhi recorded a 34.37 per cent voter turnout till 1 pm.
This election is set to decide the electoral fate of leaders from some of the high-profile constituencies, including Anantnag Rajouri, Puri and North East Delhi.
Of the 58 Lok Sabha seats, 14 are from Uttar Pradesh, 10 from Haryana, eight each from West Bengal and Bihar, seven from Delhi, six from Odisha, four from Jharkhand and one from Jammu and Kashmir.

  Share on

Related News