Saturday, June, 22,2024

Latest News

New role for Poonia, new ‘non-brahmin’ LoP likely

New Delhi/Jaipur: CP Joshi, who started his political career with ABVP, is considered close to the Sangh. Satish Poonia also comes from RSS background, but now in Poonia’s place, a leader of political background like Joshi has been given the responsibility of organisation in Rajasthan. Joshi (47) is also young compared to 58-year-old Poonia. A letter regarding the appointment of Joshi was issued by the state in-charge Arun Singh on Thursday.

It is being told that Poonia can now get a place in the national organisation. Amidst the fight for CM face in Rajasthan BJP, discussions about this big change in the organization have started. Now the appointment of the Leader of the Opposition is also likely to happen soon. The post has been vacant since Gulab Chand Kataria was made the governor. In such a situation, now the Leader of Opposition is likely to be a nonBrahmin face.

Chandra Prakash Joshi has reached the Lok Sabha twice from Chittorgarh. He won the election from this seat first in 2014 and again in 2019. In the 2014 general elections, he defeated senior Congress leader Girija Vyas. Joshi has also worked as the state president of BJP’s youth wing, BJYM. He is the 15th President of BJP Rajasthan and 7th Brahmin President. Earlier, Harishankar Bhabhada, Bhanwarlal Sharma, Lalit Kishore Chaturvedi, Mahesh Chandra Sharma, Raghuveer Singh Kaushal and Arun Chaturvedi have been Brahmin state presidents. After changing the president, the formation of new state executive will be a challenge before the BJP.

Satish Poonia took over as BJP state president on 15 September 2019. Poonia remained on this post for three and a half years. Interestingly, BJP has given such ‘surprises’, many times by giving new faces a chance as state president. In the BJP rule, Madan Lal Saini was given the reins as the state president in place of Ashok Parnami in the election year. After the death of Saini, Satish Poonia was given the responsibility of the post of State President.

  Share on

Related News